Areas for VRTB

Please note the Voluntary Right to Buy Midlands Pilot is now CLOSED to new applicants.

The Government has decided that only the following local authority areas are included in the Midlands pilot (your local authority area is the council you pay your council tax to).  Tenants in homes outside these areas are not able to apply to participate.

Eligible Local Authority Areas

Amber Valley Borough Council

Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council

Ashfield District Council

North East Derbyshire District Council

Bassetlaw District Council

North Kesteven District Council

Birmingham City Council

North Warwickshire Borough Council

Blaby District Council

North West Leicestershire District Council

Bolsover District Council

Northampton Borough Council

Boston Borough Council

Nottingham City Council

Bromsgrove District Council

Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council

Broxtowe Borough Council

Oadby and Wigston Borough Council

Cannock Chase District Council

Redditch Borough Council

Charnwood Borough Council

Rugby Borough Council

Chesterfield Borough Council

Rushcliffe Borough Council

Corby Borough Council

Rutland County Council

Coventry City Council

Sandwell Council

Daventry District Council

Shropshire Council

Derby City Council

Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council

Derbyshire Dales District Council

South Derbyshire District Council

Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council

South Holland District Council

East Lindsey District Council

South Kesteven District Council

East Northamptonshire Council

South Northamptonshire Council

East Staffordshire Borough Council

South Staffordshire Council

Erewash Borough Council

Stafford Borough Council

Gedling Borough Council

Staffordshire Moorlands District Council

Harborough District Council

Stoke-on-Trent City Council

Herefordshire Council

Stratford-on-Avon District Council

High Peak Borough Council

Tamworth Borough Council

Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council

Telford and Wrekin Council

Kettering Borough Council

Walsall Council

Leicester City Council

Warwick District Council

Lichfield District Council

Wellingborough, Borough Council of

Lincoln – City of Lincoln Council

West Lindsey District Council

Malvern Hills District Council

Wolverhampton – City of Wolverhampton Council

Mansfield District Council

Worcester City Council

Melton Borough Council

Wychavon District Council

Newark and Sherwood District Council

Wyre Forest District Council

VRTB News 2 - 17/09/2018

It is important to note that your URN will only last for four weeks from date of receipt. After this it will no longer work. You therefore need to make sure you contact us straight away once you have been allocated a URN by the Government in order to start the process of buying your home. Please see our Apply for VRTB page if you have already been allocated a Unique Reference Number by the Government. 

VRTB News 1 - 17/9/18

The Government gateway (website) for registering your interest into the ballot to receive a unique reference number (URN) was open from 16 August to midnight on 16 September and is therefore now closed. The Government will decide when/if to re-open the ballot entry on their online gateway.  You can keep up to date with the latest developments by looking on the Government’s Voluntary Right to Buy website